Skip to main content
COVID-19 Information


College and School Policies

It is the policy of the School of Arts and Sciences to follow all SUNY and BSC policies. Where there are contradictions note the order of precedence. Note that Letters of Expectation only apply until continuing appointment.


Shared Governance


Arts and Sciences Steering Council and School Committees

Steering Council

Speaker (2021-2022)
Kevin Williams

Earth Sciences and Science Education

Vice Speaker (2021-2022)
Deborah Silverman

Communication Department

Secretary (2021-2022)
Meg Knowles

Communication Department


At-large representative (2021-2022)
Lisa Berglund

English Department

Voting member who does not hold continuing appointment representative (2021-2022)
Therese Fuerst

Communication Department


Bylaws & Election (B&E) Committee

B&E Committee member - Arts (2021-2023)                       Victoria Furby

B&E Committee member - Humanities (2021-2022)             Barish Ali

B&E Committee member - Natural Sciences (2021-2023)     David Abbott

B&E Committee member - Social Sciences (2021-2022)       Kimberly Hart

B&E Committee member – At-Large (2021-2023)                Bridget Chesterton

Curriculum Committee

Curriculum Committee member - Arts (2021-2022)             Ann Emo

Curriculum Committee member - Arts (2021-2022)             Emily Boyce

Curriculum Committee member - Humanities (2021-2023)   Timothy Bryant

Curriculum Committee member - Humanities (2021-2023)    Mark Warford

Curriculum Committee member - Natural Sciences (2021-2022)               Stephani Foraker

Curriculum Committee member - Natural Sciences (2021-2022)               Gary Solar

Curriculum Committee member - Social Sciences (2021-2023)                 Julie Wieczkowski

Curriculum Committee member – Social Sciences (2021-2023)                 Jason Knight (Geography)

Curriculum Committee member – At-Large (2021-2023)                          Jennifer Ryan-Bryant (English)

Personnel Committee

Personnel Committee member - Arts (2021-2024)                                   Ricky Fleming

Personnel Committee member - Humanities (2021-2023)                         Joseph Marren

Personnel Committee member - Natural Sciences (2021-2024)                 Mark Severson

Personnel Committee member - Social Sciences (2021-2023)                   Lisa Marie Anselmi

Personnel Committee member – At-Large (2021-2024)                            Yola Stockton (Art&Design)


Senator – Arts                                                                                       Candace Masters (Art&Design)

Senator – Humanities                                                                            John Draeger (Philosophy)

Senator – Natural Sciences                                                                    Arjun Pathak (Physics)

Senator – Social Sciences                                                                      Sue Maguire (Anthropology)


Senator – Arts*                                                                                     Timothy Bryant (English)                     

Senator – Humanities                                                                            Peter Ramos (English)

Senator – Natural Sciences                                                                    Kevin Williams (ESSE)

Senator – Social Sciences                                                                      Suparna Soni (PolSci&PubAdmin)


Senator – Arts                                                                                       Aaron Daniel Annas (Communication)  

Senator – Humanities                                                                            Jason Grinnell (Philosophy)                  

Senator – Natural Sciences                                                                    David Ettestad (Physics)                       

Senator – Social Sciences**                                                                   Mark Severson (Chemistry) – completing Michael Lazich’s term (retired) (SS)

*This seat will revert to an Arts representative in 2023

**This seat will revert to Social Sciences in 2022

Contingent Faculty Welfare Committee:

Raymond Boucher – Theater (Arts Representative) 

Joyce Joyce – Sociology (Social Sciences Representative) 

Ed Taylor – English (Humanities Representative) 

Roy Bakos – English (At-Large Representative) 

*There were no nominees for the Natural Sciences Representative.


Back to Top

School of Arts and Sciences

1300 Elmwood Ave  •   •  Buffalo, NY 14222